IWSC Presidents


Laura Catena is a fourth generation Argentine vintner, physician and author. Catena's great grandfather founded the Catena winery in Mendoza in 1902 after emigrating from Italy. Her father, Nicolas Catena Zapata, often referred to as “the Robert Mondavi of Argentina,” helped facilitate the ascent of Argentine Malbec onto the world stage.
Born in Mendoza, Argentina, Laura graduated magna cum laude from Harvard University and has a Medical Doctor degree from Stanford University. Laura combines a strong science background with a passion for her family winery. She is currently managing director of Bodega Catena Zapata and her own Luca Wines in Mendoza, as well as a practicing Emergency Medicine physician in San Francisco.
Laura has been called the “face” of Argentine wine. She has traveled the globe to lecture about Argentine wines and viticulture and has been an invited speaker at the American Society of Wine Educators, Decanter Fine Wine Encounter, The Smithsonian and the Vancouver Playhouse among others.
In 2010 Laura Catena released her book Vino Argentino, An Insider’s Guide to the Wines and Wine Country of Argentina (Chronicle Books), the first book about Argentine wine by a U.S. publisher. Dave McIntyre of The Washington Post wrote: "Vino Argentino is a mouthwatering introduction to the wines and culture of Argentina."

IWSC Vice-Presidents

Recent presidents become active vice presidents after their term of office. A list of their names appears below. 
Year Name Company Country


G. Garvin Brown IV Brown-Forman Corporation  USA


Mauricio Gonzalez Gordon Gonzalez Byass S.A. Spain


Prince Robert of Luxembourg Domaine Clarence Dillon France
2010 Prinz Michael zu Salm-Salm Prinz Salm Dalberg'sches Weingut Germany
2009 Sir Ian Good The Edrington Group Scotland
2008 Rafael Guilisasti Viñedos Emiliana SA Chile
2007 Gina Gallo E&J Gallo Family Estate USA
2006 Anthony von Mandl Mission Hill Family Estate Winery Canada
2005 Wolf Blass Wolf Blass Wines Australia
2004 Paul Symington The Symington Family Port Shippers Portugal
2003 Claes Dahlbäck Vin & Sprit Sweden
2002 Dominique Hériard Dubreuil CEO, Rémy-Cointreau France
2001 Warren Winiarski Stags Leap Wine Cellars USA
2000 Baroness Philippine de Rothschild Baron Philippe de Rothschild Ltd France
1999 Miguel Torres Miguel Torres Spain
1998 Sir Anthony Greener Diageo UK
1997 Jean Hugel Hugel et Fils France
1996 Dr Anton Rupert  Rembrandt Group South Africa
1995 Marchese Leonardo de' Frescobaldi Marchesi dé Frescobaldi Italy
1994 Michael Jackaman Allied Domecq UK
1993 May de Lencquesaing Château Pichon Longueville Comtesse de Lalande France
1992 Chris Hancock Hon MW Rosemount Estates Australia
1991 Peter MF Sichel H. Sichel Söhne USA
1990 Robert Drouhin Maison Joseph Drouhin France
1989 José Ignacio Domecq  Domecq Spain
1988 Marchese Piero Antinori Marchese Antinori Italy
1987 Kenneth Graham FIAE Whyte & Mackay Scotland
1986 Dr Max Lake  Oenologist & lecturer Australia
1985 Marquis de Goulaine Château de Goulaine France
1984 Mme Odette Pol Roger  Champagne Pol Roger France
1983 Robert Mondavi Hon MW Mondavi Winery USA
1982 Dr Hans Ambrosi Oenologist & lecturer Germany
1981 Harry Waugh MBE Hon MW  Wine consultant UK
1980 Peter Noble CBE Wine consultant UK


Part of the  IWSC Group