IWSC announces 2022 trophy winners

Spirit news

Wed 23 Mar 2022

By Gemma Duncan

Having completed its biggest year for spirits award entries, the IWSC is delighted to announce the 23 spirits to have been awarded a trophy.

Last week the world’s most established drinks awards announced its gold, silver and bronze medal winners. The top scoring drinks were retasted by the IWSC’s panel of experts, and trophies were awarded to the top scoring spirit from each category.

New categories were added reflecting the changing trends within the spirits market, including trophies for Irish Whiskey, Asian Whiskey and Flavoured Gin.

Each year the IWSC brings together a host of experts from across the globe to judge thousands of entrants to its awards. The biggest year for entries in its 53-year history, this year the IWSC received over 4,000 spirits from over 90 countries. These 23 trophy winners are the top scoring spirits within each category.

The trophy results are available now on the IWSC website.  

All spirits were tasted by the IWSC’s carefully curated panels of industry experts, led by members of its Spirits Judging Committee: Ian Burrell, Marie Cheong Thong, Dawn Davies MW, Joel Harrison, Deano Moncrieffe, Richard Paterson OBE, David T. Smith and Olivier Ward.

The IWSC’s 2022 Trophy winners are: