Industry Champion & Brand Ambassadors

Our people

The IWSC has a dedicated team spreading the word all around the world

Our Industry Champions are selected each year by the IWSC Judging Committee, our Ambassadors and the IWSC Team. 

Introducing the IWSC Industry Champion

The IWSC has been awarding the title of President to a member of the global drinks trade since 1976.

With the evolution of the IWSC and it’s brand identity, in 2023 we have updated the title of the IWSC President to the IWSC Industry Champion.

Our Industry Champions are selected for their achievements in the industry and their involvement in championing their region or country or category of drinks. The IWSC Industry Champions also demonstrate innovation and are viewed as role model within our industry. Each year, together with the IWSC’s Judging Committee members, the Industry Champion is selected from amongst the winners of the IWSC’s Producer Trophy and Outstanding Producer Trophy winners from recent award years.


Former Presidents

2023Richard SealeFoursquareBarbados
2022Johann KrigeKanonkop Wine EstateSouth Africa
2021Michael UrquhartFormerly Gordon & MacPhailUnited Kingdom
2020Tamara RobertsRidgeview Wine EstateUnited Kingdom
2019Sir George FistonichVilla MariaNew Zealand
2018Facundo BacardíBacardíUSA
2017Chris BlandyBlandy'sPortugal
2016Matteo LunelliFerrari and the Lunelli GroupItaly
2015Neil McGuigan Australian Vintage Australia
2014Dr Laura Catena Bodegas Catena ZapataArgentina
2013G. Garvin Brown IV Brown-Forman Corporation USA
2012Mauricio Gonzalez Gordon Gonzalez Byass S.A. Spain
2011Prince Robert of Luxembourg Domaine Clarence Dillon France
2010Prinz Michael Zu Salm-Salm Prinz Salm Dalberg'sches WeingutGermany
2009Sir Ian Good The Edrington Group United Kingdom
2008Rafael Guilisasti Viñedos Emiliana SAChile
2007Gina Gallo E&J Gallo Family EstateUSA
2006Anthony Von Mandl Mission Hill Family Estate Winery Canada
2005Wolf BlassWolf Blass Wines Australia
2004Paul Symington Symington Family EstatesPortugal
2003Claes DahlbäckVin & Spirit Sweden
2002Dominique Hériard DubreuilRémy-CointreauFrance
2001Warren WiniarskiStags Leap Wine CellarsUSA
2000Baroness Philippine de RothschildBaron Philippe de RothschildFrance
1999Miguel TorresMiguel TorresSpain
1998Sir Anthony GreenerDiageoUnited Kingdom
1997Jean HugelHugel et FilsFrance
1996Dr Anton Rupert Rembrandt GroupSouth Africa
1995Marchese Leonardo de' FrescobaldiMarchesi dé FrescobaldiItaly
1994Michael JackamanAllied DomecqUnited Kingdom
1993May de LencquesaingChâteau Pichon Longueville Comtesse de LalandeFrance
1992Chris Hancock Hon MWRosemount EstatesAustralia
1991Peter MF SichelH. Sichel SöhneUSA
1990Robert DrouhinMaison Joseph DrouhinFrance
1989José Ignacio Domecq DomecqSpain
1988Marchese Piero AntinoriMarchese AntinoriItaly
1987Kenneth Graham FIAEWhyte & MackayUnited Kingdom
1986Dr Max Lake Oenologist & lecturerAustralia
1985Marquis de GoulaineChâteau de GoulaineFrance
1984Mme Odette Pol Roger Champagne Pol RogerFrance
1983Robert Mondavi Hon MWMondavi WineryUSA
1982Dr Hans AmbrosiOenologist & lecturerGermany
1981Harry Waugh MBE Hon MW Wine consultantUnited Kingdom
1980Peter Noble CBEWine consultantUnited Kingdom
1979Cyril RayAuthor & JournalistUnited Kingdom
1978Sir Reginald Bennett VDRPoliticianUnited Kingdom
1977Lord Montagu of BeaulieuFounder Wine Guild of the United KingdomUnited Kingdom
1976Sir Humphrey Edwardes JonesSenior Commander Royal Air ForceUnited Kingdom