Subscribe to keep up with the IWSC Latest


The role of President of the IWSC has a long history and the competition has been honoured by an unrivalled list of truly iconic figures from the wine and spirits industries who have taken up this role including Baroness Philippine de Rothschild, Wolf Blass, Sir Ian Good, Robert Mondavi and Warren Winiarski. The President acts as the embodiment of the IWSC's objective to recognise and promote the production of quality wines and spirits throughout the world and the person appointed as President of the IWSC is chosen for their stature and reputation which enable them to achieve this objective.

IWSC 2017 President

Chris Blandy

Chris Blandy

"Chris Blandy was born on the island of Madeira in 1979. As was the case with many English families living abroad, Chris studied in England from prep school up to university. After achieving a Bachelor of Arts degree in Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne, he joined the marketing department at the Symington Family Estate in Porto for a 2 year period, focusing on the Madeira wine business.
Chris then moved to Washington DC and worked at the Willard Inter Continental Hotel, ending his 2 year spell there as the hotel’s diplomatic liaison manager, dealing with the visiting foreign dignitaries.

View President's full profile

Past IWSC Presidents

2016Matteo LunelliFerrari Winery and of the Lunelli GroupItaly
2015Neil McGuigan Australian Vintage Australia
2014Dr Laura Catena Bodegas Catena ZapataArgentina
2013G. Garvin Brown IV Brown-Foreman Corporation USA
2012Mauricio Gonzalez Gordon Gonzalez Byass S.A. Spain
2011Prince Robert of Luxembourg Domaine Clarence Dillon France
2010Prinz Michael Zu Salm-Salm Prinz Salm Dalberg'sches WeingutGermany
2009Sir Ian Good The Edrington Group United Kingdom
2008Rafael Guilisasti Viñedos Emiliana SAChile
2007Gina Gallo E&J Gallo Family EstateUSA
2006Anthony Von Mandl Mission Hill Family Estate Winery Canada
2005Wolf BlassWolf Blass Wines Australia
2004Paul Symington The Symington Family Port Shippers Portugal
2003Claes DahlbäckVin & Spirit Sweden
2002Dominique Hériard DubreuilCEO, Rémy-CointreauFrance
2001Warren WiniarskiStags Leap Wine CellarsUSA
2000Baroness Philippine de RothschildBaron Philippe de Rothschild LtdFrance
1999Miguel TorresMiguel TorresSpain
1998Sir Anthony GreenerDiageoUnited Kingdom
1997Jean HugelHugel et FilsFrance
1996Dr Anton Rupert Rembrandt GroupSouth Africa
1995Marchese Leonardo de' FrescobaldiMarchesi dé FrescobaldiItaly
1994Michael JackamanAllied DomecqUnited Kingdom
1993May de LencquesaingChâteau Pichon Longueville Comtesse de LalandeFrance
1992Chris Hancock Hon MWRosemount EstatesAustralia
1991Peter MF SichelH. Sichel SöhneUSA
1990Robert DrouhinMaison Joseph DrouhinFrance
1989José Ignacio Domecq DomecqSpain
1988Marchese Piero AntinoriMarchese AntinoriItaly
1987Kenneth Graham FIAEWhyte & MackayUnited Kingdom

The IWSC is Proudly Sponsored & Supported by: