IWSC Wine Communicator 2020 shortlist: Elaine Chukan Brown

Wine news

mer. 11 mars 2020

Wine Communicator 2020 - sponsored by Vinitaly - recognises someone whose communication skills have made an exceptional contribution towards promoting and increasing public awareness in wines in the last 12 months. This week, we'll be profiling four brilliant communicators who have been shortlisted for one of IWSC's top awards.

Elaine Chukan Brown has worked broadly across the wine trade and her work has both a geographic and media spread. She has written at length and with authority on the wines of  North America and New Zealand. Beyond writing, Chukan Brown has been a celebrated keynote speaker for events in wine and philosophy and has also appeared in wine-centred video content.  

Alongside writing for JancisRobinson.com and Wine & Spirits Magazine, Chukan Brown’s work has also been featured in Club Oenologique, Decanter, World of Fine Wine and the Robb Report. She contributed to the 8th edition of the World Atlas of Wine, as well as the award-winning 4th edition of the Oxford Companion to Wine. In2019, the Wine Industry Network named Brown one of the 9 Most Inspiring People in Wine. 

Prior to her career in wine, Chukan Brown was an academic philosopher and before that she owned her own commercial fishing business in Alaska. She is passionate about lifelong learning, as well as sharing knowledge and enthusiasm with others. 

“My wine career has been based in continuously deepening my understanding of wine growing, winemaking, sustainability, and the people who make it all possible so that I can better communicate that with others,” says Chukan Brown. 

“For me, working in wine is a form of service to the larger community. The Wine Communicator 2020 award would grant me the opportunity to serve to an even larger, more prestigious community." 

“Winning this award would affirm my ability to bring together knowledge of wine and love for the wine community with passion and approachability across a range of communication platforms.”

This year’s winner will be following in the footsteps of past winners including Madeline Puckette of Wine Folly, and Joe Fattorini of The Wine Show.