IWSC announces the winners of its 2021 Producer Trophies

IWSC news

Fri 5 Nov 2021

By Gemma Duncan

Following the completion of a week of announcements in celebration of 2021’s greatest wine and spirits makers, the IWSC is delighted to share the winners of its coveted Producer Trophies. 

Each year, following the completion of medal judging, the IWSC awards trophies to the best performing producers within each wine and spirit category. These trophies have always been the pinnacle of achievement for competition entrants, as they recognise a company’s overall success rather than individual products.

The winners of these trophies are then shortlisted for the Outstanding Wine Producer Trophy and Outstanding Spirit Producer Trophy, recognising the most successful producer for the year.

After a week of social media broadcasting, the IWSC is delighted to share its 2021 winners:

Spirit Producers Awards

  • Agave Producer Trophy – El Tesoro Tequila
  • Baijiu Producer Trophy – Chengde Qianlongzui Industry
  • Brandy Producer Trophy – Hermitage Cognacs
  • National Gin Producer Trophy – Trevethan Distillers
  • International Gin Producer Trophy – Kyoto Distillery
  • Rum Producer Trophy – RL Seale & Company
  • Scotch Whisky Producer Trophy – Chivas Brothers
  • Shochu Producer Trophy – Hombo Shuzo
  • Vodka Producer Trophy - Alberta Distillers
  • Worldwide Whiskey Producer Trophy – Kavalan Distillery

The 2021 Outstanding Spirits Producer Trophy was awarded to: RL Seale & Company

Wine Producer Awards

  • White Wine Producer Trophy – Weingut Rabl, Austria
  • Red Wine Producer Trophy – Vilafonté, South Africa
  • Sparkling Wine Producer Trophy – Rare Champagne, France
  • Sweet Wine Producer Trophy – Inniskillin, Canada
  • Fortified Wine Producer Trophy – Kopke, Portugal

The 2021 Outstanding Wine Producer Trophy was awarded to: Vilafonté, South Africa


Commenting on the results from 2021, CEO for IWSC, Christelle Guibert added: “These awards are always incredibly hotly contested. It is incredibly competitive to even make the shortlist for each trophy and so all producers should be very proud of this achievement.

“Huge congratulations too, must go to our 2021 Outstanding Prodcuers RL Seale & Company and Vilafonté. These producers join the IWSC’s very highest echelon of producers to hold these sought-after industry awards, joining the likes of industry stalwarts Ridgeview and Kanonkop for wine and Distell, and William Grant for Spirits.”

 All our 2021 Trophy winners can be viewed here.

The IWSC 2022 Competition opens for entry from Monday 8 November. All results for 2021 and earlier competitions can be viewed on the IWSC website.